Paralogue 24 – 4/20/16

Nothing really happened today, guess everyone was burnt out from the frestival

 

Server 2

 

Loyal-04/20/2016

Corian sits in the dimly-lit camp library. He’s studying some of the notes he’s been taking on hexes… and the dead Flux tome lies to his side.

Still haven’t made a lot of progress, he thinks, looking to the tome.

That New Republic sorcerer… what he did to us was certainly a form of Dark magic.

But so far I haven’t been able to reverse engineer it on study alone. I must keep trying, though.

“…….”

He alternates between the tome, and the notes, contemplating.

…Perhaps study and academia alone is not enough. But the alternative…

He shakes his head.

Quietly, he decides. “…No. Unthinkable. All I’m missing is the right text… the right way of thinking. I can figure this out on my own.”

Aaron-04/20/2016

Aaron walks into the library, searching through some books on forging.

Loyal-04/20/2016

Noticing Aaron, Corian starts putting away his research materials.

Aaron-04/20/2016

Maybe there’s something in here that could help me with that bow… But there’s a lot of books, so I’d better start looking.(edited)

Loyal-04/20/2016

“Hello, Aaron.” the priest waves.

Aaron-04/20/2016

Aaron turns his head towards Corian. “Oh, hey Corian. What’re you doing here? Anything specific?”

Loyal-04/20/2016

He shakes his head, closing his pack. “Nothing too special.” …what subject would bore him quickly?

“Just going over some books on healing I borrowed from Riverfast. Trying to see how I can improve my technique.”

Aaron-04/20/2016

“Huh. Guess I shouldn’t be too surprised… Although you do seem like the academic type regardless.”

Aaron continues to look through books on the shelves.

“Say, Corian, do you know if there’s anything in here on bows?”

Loyal-04/20/2016

He scratches his chin. “Hard to say.”

Loyal-04/20/2016

“This library’s a bit sparse, to be honest. The breadth of topics covered is … adequate, I guess.”

“But if you’re looking for anything more than surface-level information, you might have to head to one of the surrounding towns, instead.”(edited)

Aaron-04/20/2016

“Hm… Well, I preferably want to talk to some of the archers we have here, like Nora. But I don’t want to go in with absolutely nothing… I’ll just keep looking in here. But if you find anything for archery, could you just put it on that table over there?” Aaron points to a table in the corner.

Loyal-04/20/2016

He nods. “Certainly. I was just about done here, anyway. I can spare a little time to help out.”

Slinging the pack over his shoulder, he looks about. “What in particular are you looking for?”

Aaron-04/20/2016

“Well, two things in particular… Obviously, how to wield a bow, but also how to make and fix them too. I probably only need one or two books on wielding bows, since I could just ask Nora for more help. But I want to find as many books on making and fixing bows as I can.”

Loyal-04/20/2016

“I see… well, it would seem fair for a military camp to have a text or two on archery.”(edited)

He walks over to a shelf and starts thumbing through different hard covers, looking for anything relevant.

“So, what has you interested in the bow? I thought the axe was more your style.”

Aaron-04/20/2016

Aaron continues to finger through more books as he talks. “Well, all the men in my family were these great war heroes, and they were all snipers. You may have heard of some of them, actually… Does Bradley the Brave sound familiar?”

Loyal-04/20/2016

He pulls out a small book titled Fletching and Flights of Fancy: A History of Arrowheads.(edited)

“…Sorry, Aaron, doesn’t ring a bell. I’m afraid war heroes aren’t much my area of expertise.”

Aaron-04/20/2016

“That’s fine. Anyway, I was supposed to follow that legacy, but I was completely inept with a bow, no matter how much my dad tried to teach me… Everyone in my hometown held me in contempt for that. So I picked up a weapon I could never fail at, which was the axe.”

Aaron picks up a book titled Sharpshooting for Beginners: A Guide to Crossbows, but puts it back.(edited)

Loyal-04/20/2016

“I see. Any particular reason for that, over a sword… or a spear?”

He places the first book on the table, and continues looking.

Aaron-04/20/2016

“It just seemed like the easiest weapon type I could use… A sword or a spear requires some skill and finesse to wield properly, but the axe is basically a fail-safe.”

Loyal-04/20/2016

Deep in the corner of another bookshelf, he spies a “quiv” buried deep among other books.

Aaron-04/20/2016

Aaron continues to search through the walls of books, eventually picking out several books about bow crafting and repairs.

Loyal-04/20/2016

“…Maybe. But don’t you think it’s worth putting in the effort to try and get better? That does seem to be what you’re doing with your bow-related woes.”

Aaron-04/20/2016

“The thing is, the axe is easy to use, but tough to master. I saw it as a low entry-level weapon, but I knew that I could eventually get very good with it.”

“To be able to use a heavy axe with skill and speed is pretty hard, and I’m still working on that myself.”

Loyal-04/20/2016

Pulling out the book, the cover features an attractive woman. The title reads, All A-quiver: The Adventures of Malayna Rose

“I see. And … you plan to craft a bow yourself, as well?”

He idly flips open the text to a random page.

…and shortly thereafter blushes slightly, shutting the book and putting it back.

No, that’s definitely not what we’re looking for.(edited)

Aaron-04/20/2016

“Actually, I have a specific bow in mind for my efforts… When I was still trying to learn how to use a bow, I was training using a special one that my father made… But I ended up breaking it. So I took it with me when I became a mercenary, in hopes that I could find someone somewhere in my travels that could fix it… Though I haven’t found anyone yet.”

“So I’m trying to fix it myself. But the problem is, this bow is very different from other normal ones… I can’t quite grasp the vision that my father had in making it, so I’m not confident that I could restore to how it’s supposed to be.”

“But if I have some knowledge on the subject, maybe I’ll be able to see what my father saw.”

Aaron carries a few books over to the table and sets them down.

Loyal-04/20/2016

“Interesting.” He pulls out another book titled Care And Maintenance For Your Instrument of Murder. Such a … vivid title…

“Perhaps if your restoration project doesn’t work out… you could follow in your father’s footsteps in another way.”

Aaron-04/20/2016

“What do you mean?”

Loyal-04/20/2016

“Craft your own bow, following your own vision.”

Aaron-04/20/2016

“Hm… I will do that eventually, but… This project is still really important for me. So I’ll keep trying until I fix it.”

Loyal-04/20/2016

He nods. “I understand.” He brings a few books over to Aaron. “i wish you the best of luck regardless.”

Aaron-04/20/2016

“Thank you, Corian. I’ll try my best.”

Aaron sits down, takes a book from the pile, and cracks it open, reading intensely.

Loyal-04/20/2016

“At any rate, I’ll need to excuse myself. I haven’t eaten yet today… and it would not behoove me to continue my research on an empty stomach.”

“Perhaps I will see you later?”

Aaron-04/20/2016

Aaron looks up. “Yes, perhaps… I’ll probably be hanging around at the camp’s forge if you need me for something. Maybe I could make you a metal staff or something sometime.”

Loyal-04/20/2016

He chuckles. “Perhaps I’ll take you up on that, sometime. Though I hope I wouldn’t need to. Take care, Aaron.” He turns to leave.

Aaron-04/20/2016

Aaron digs his nose back into his book, titled The Finer Points of Archery.

Loyal-04/20/2016

Corian heads in the direction of the mess hall.

Aaron-04/20/2016

Aaron glances at the large pile of books next to him, then sighs.

This could take a while…

This entry was posted in Post Chapter 2x, Server 2. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

