Paralogue 23 – 4/19/16

Server 1

 

jddaepicboss- 04/19/2016

Bedivere is reading “Awakener,” on his trusty old tree stump near the sick bay.

Loyal- 04/19/2016

Corian walks out of a supply tent, in borrowed green robes. Once again his old robes have taken a lot of damage and need to be repaired… But it’ll take a few days.

Rabbit- 04/19/2016

Rabbit paces around the camp, shifting through a courier bag to dig out a letter while she mutters to herself, “Hmm. Which one is next…”

NeoFire- 04/19/2016

Romulo walks out of the Mess Hall, confused at what was just disscussed

So… if my uncle’s cousin’s daughter is my third… no fourth cousin…?

Gah! Why the fuck did we discuss these things?!, Romulo said, trying to process on how confusing a family tree could get

 

Server 2

 

Aaron-04/19/2016

==============================

Aaron is walking through camp when I discovers that their camp has a forge. He enters it and looks around.

Huh… I had no idea this was here… Maybe someone could help me with that bow? Or perhaps I could work here. If Rabbit got the job as a courier, why couldn’t I work as a smithy?

“Hello? Anyone in here? Hello!?”

No one answers.

Nobody’s here?… Odd. But I could probably use this place on my own if I needed to… Perhaps I’ll go get my stuff and bring it here.(edited)

Aaron walks out of the smithy, goes into his tent, and walks out with a large sack of tools and materials.

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

Tarquin was walking out of the mess hall, upset at what was happening with Bedivere. As he was walking towards his tent, he saw Aaron with a huge pile of tools.(edited)

He approaches him. “Hey, where are you going with all those materials?”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Huh? Oh, hey Tarq. I just found out that we have a blacksmith here in camp, but when I went in there, nobody was there. So I’m just bringing over all of my own tools and materials so that I can make use of it myself.”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Huh, interesting, I never knew you had anything to do with forgery. Mind if I tag along?”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Go ahead. I’ll show you where it is.”

Aaron leads Tarquin over to the blacksmith, and they enter. Aaron walks over to the back and sets down his bag of tools and materials.

Aaron examines some of the tools in the blacksmith. “Glad I brought my own… The ones here are pretty low-quality. I should be able to make some pretty good stuff in here, though.”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

Tarquin looks around. (Hm… I dunno, haven’t done anything like this in a long time. Should I really be here?)

“So, what do you plan on doing here, Aaron?”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Well, nothing specific, really. If someone needs a weapon forged or armor fixed, I can always do that… Although there is one project that I’ve got, though it’ll take a real long time…”

Aaron pulls out the broken Bradley’s Bow.

“I’ve taken this thing to every blacksmith I could find in my travels, yet none of them could fix this… But maybe if I keep working at it, I’ll fix it eventually.”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“A bow? I don’t see how this couldn’t easily be fixed.”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“This Bow is… Special. My father, who made it in the first place, had some unique designs on this thing that made it extremely high-performance… But of course, I ended up breaking it when he attempted to teach me archery. Still, I don’t want to just patch it up my own way, since it’ll lose its quality that way. I want to try and make it just like it used to be… But I don’t quite have the vision my father had in making this thing.”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Hm… I see. Well, if it’s special, you will fix it, cause I know you won’t give up on it. Just keep trying.”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Heh, alright… Anyway, how about I forge something simple? I haven’t used a proper forge in a while, so I could use a warm-up…. Perhaps an axe?”(edited)

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Hm, anything I can do? This seems interesting.”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Uh… I don’t know, actually. Do you know anything about a forge?”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Very little. I forged a tiny bit at my old home, but my experience is close to none, I kinda forgot about it.”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Hm… In that case, maybe you should just watch. I wouldn’t want you to get burned or something because of your inexperience. But as consolation, this forged axe will go to you.”

Aaron puts on some thick gloves, an apron, and a mask, then grabs a hammer and some metals out of his sack and starts pounding away on the anvil.

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

Natanya was taking her daily walk around the camp, seeing if anything new had developed like a hole in the perimeter or maybe even if she could find anything or anyone lying around… That was, until she heard the noise. She was very familiar with this sound, after all, it was how she had spent most of her childhood. She slowly made her way towards the camp’s forge, having chills go down her spine every time the hammer struck metal. “Well helloooooo there!” Natanya grinned, spotting Tarquin and Aaron at the forge

Aaron-04/19/2016

Aaron stops hammering and looks up. “Ah, hello Nat! How’re you doing today?”

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

“Absolutely wonderful! Knowing that people are finally using the forge, I mean” She responded

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

“Anyways, what are you working on?” Natanya questioned, moving closer to inspect Aaron’s work

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

Tarquin was too busy looking at the craftsmanship to notice Nat. When Aaron stops, he looks up and says, “Oh, hey, Nat! How’re you?”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Oh, just a regular axe. I haven’t used a forge for a while, so I’m just doing something easy to refresh myself.”

“But, do you have an interest in forging? You seem delighted that I’m using it.”

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

“Absolutely, I’ve loved it ever since I was a child.” Natanya responds before turning around to regard Tarquin “Hey Tarquin, I’m alright. And you?”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Fine. Just watching Aaron forge this axe, I haven’t forged in such a long time, this might help me get back into it.”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Heh… Seems all three of us have some sort of forging background. Guess this can be a refresher course for all of us then!”

Aaron begins to hammer away at the anvil again.

After hammering the metal enough, Aaron picks up the vaguely axe-shaped metal and inspects it for a moment. He then fires up the forge itself, grabs the axe with some long tongs, and places it in the flame.

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Wow…”

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

Natanya stared with a smug grin on her face as Aaron set the axe to the flame

Aaron-04/19/2016

“It’s nothing impressive, honestly. Just some pretty basic forging… Anyway, you both have some kind of background in forging? I’d like to hear about that.”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Well… When I was home, my parents wanted me to know how to forge. It was pretty basic, and I don’t remember much of it, but i was fascinated by it. It was really great.”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Interesting… Nat? What about you?”

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

“Heh… funny story, really…” she said, staring sideways and scratching the back of her head.

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Do tell. It’ll make the flaming of this axe significantly less boring.”

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

Natanya lets out a sigh as she pulls up a chair for herself. “…Alright,” she replies, sitting herself down on said chair.

“This, is the story of how I lost my eye” Natanya spoke neutrally, promptly pointing to her eyepatch(edited)

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Oh. Uh… If it’s too personal, then you don’t have to share the story if you don’t want to. I wouldn’t want to force you to share that stuff.”

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

“It’s fine,” she laughed “I’ve come to terms with what happened and how it was my fault and mine alone.”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Ah… Alright then. Let’s hear it.”

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

“Alrighty… this all started a couple years ago, back when I was 17? No… 18? Nevermind that. Just know that it was a while ago, and that I was more willing to take risks and yaddah-yaddah dangerous stuff.” She started, waving her hand in a circular motion(edited)

“This was before I decided that seeing the world was my goal,” she added, crossing her legs “It was at this time, my dream was to take over the local forge and supply our militia…”(edited)

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

“…This quickly changed one afternoon.” She added, her voice somber

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Oh god, what happened?”

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

“It was a day, like any other, the blacksmith and I were hard at work and we were content with that”

“We were in the process of making some swords that our militia would use, you know, to fend off bandits and wildlife and stuff.”

“Anyways, the blades were set to fire and since they were done I thought it was a good idea to start hammering one of them, since my mentor already had his hands full with a personal order”

“It was simply business as usual, I hammered the edges enough so I went to set it to cool”

“After it was all set and cooled, I went to go grab it…” Natanya’s eye drifted down as she crossed her arms as well

“…something must’ve slipped or something, but when I took it out of the coolant the blade managed to slip out of my grasp and cut my eye while I was inspecting the edges”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

Tarquin jumped out of his seat when he heard that.

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

Natanya chuckled while shaking her head at her past self

Aaron-04/19/2016

“…” Aaron continues to carefully tend to the axe.

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

“…Man, how could I have been so dumb”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Hey… Don’t speak like that, it was an accident, these things happen.”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“…at least you’ll never make the same mistake again. You’ve learned to be more careful, though you had to pay a price.”

NeoFire-04/19/2016

Romulo walks by the Blacksmiths, as he tries to comprehend overly complex family trees

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“And hey, I think that eye patch makes you look tough!”

NeoFire-04/19/2016

Romulo then hears some talking by the Blacksmith

Aaron-04/19/2016

Aaron removes the metal from the blaze, then places it in some coolant, creating a large cloud of steam.

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

Natanya managed a smile while one of her hands drifted up to touch her eye-patch

NeoFire-04/19/2016

Hmmm… it’s… Tarquin… Aaron… and I think Tarquin’s girlfriend?, Romulo thought

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Phew… Now that just has to cool for a bit, and it should be ready.” Noticing Romulo “Oh, hey Rom, what’s up?”

NeoFire-04/19/2016

“Oh hello”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Hi Rom, how’s it been?”

NeoFire-04/19/2016

“I just came from the Mess Hall, after some of the fellow guards attempted to make sense of family trees”

“It’s been fine”, Romulo replies to Tarquin, “the festival in Riverfast was fun. Though I didn’t get to do too much”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Aw, that’s a shame, it was really fun for me.”

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

Natanya’s gaze lifted, noticing the axeman

NeoFire-04/19/2016

“Yeah, I was busy talking to my uncle, and I was busy walking through the crowd”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“I spent most of that festival on rooftops… Though it certainly helped you guys out, huh?”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

Tarquin blushed a little. “Y-yeah.”

NeoFire-04/19/2016

“I heard there was a bandit attack in another camp near by-ish”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Huh? A bandit attack?”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“What? When? And where?”

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

Natanya tilted her head at the mention of bandits

NeoFire-04/19/2016

“Fort.. Yumit was it?”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Wait, I think I heard Mev taking about that.”

NeoFire-04/19/2016

Romulo saw Natanya tilting her head when he said “bandits” “Uh… did I do something wrong??”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Isn’t that where brutus’s blades are located?”

NeoFire-04/19/2016

“Ah great”

“It’s not like they couldn’t handle a couple of bandits”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Meh. They should be fine.”

NeoFire-04/19/2016

“Yeah. My cousin is among their number. I spent half my time at the festival trying to find him”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Cousin?@

NeoFire-04/19/2016

“Yep. An Infantry Archer named Gregori.”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Interesting. I’ll keep that name in mind.”

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

Natanya nodded in agreement

NeoFire-04/19/2016

“Anyhow, what are you guys doing in the blacksmith?”(edited)

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Oh, nothing. Just forging an axe.”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Nat and I are just watching Aaron make it.”

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

“Just enjoying each other’s time”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“None of us have forged anything in a long time, so I’m just doing a basic forge as a refresher.”

NeoFire-04/19/2016

“Ah,” Romulo said, “what kind of axe? A basic Iron Axe?”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Hehe… You’ll see…” Aaron pulls the axe head out of the coolant, then takes it over to a table in the back. He grabs several tools and some wood and leather, then begins furiously working.

At last, Aaron turns around and presents the axe by giving it a few swings. “This here is a special metal combination that I discovered a few years ago… It’s incredibly durable and decently strong, but also very lightweight. Light enough to be thrown with ease.”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“So… Like a hand axe?”

NeoFire-04/19/2016

“Is it a variation of steel?”

Aaron-04/19/2016

Aaron hands the axe to Tarquin. “See for yourself.”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Hm…”

Tarquin walks outside.

Aaron-04/19/2016

“I’m not sure what kind of metal mixture it is, since it’s sort of a hodgepodge of a bunch of different things. But when put in the right proportions, they make this awesome metal.”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

“Alright, here goes nothing.”

*Tarquin throws the axe towards a tree.”

NeoFire-04/19/2016

“How light is the metal?”, Romulo asked Aaron about the Axe’s material, “As light as a Slim Sword’s Blade?”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

The handaxe lands exactly on the tree, with perfect ease.

“Woah, that was… Amazing.”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Go test it yourself to find out, Rom.”

DuffleBag-04/19/2016

Tarquin goes to retrieve the handaxe.

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Honestly, this thing is light enough where you could probably fire it from a greatbow or something, and it’d work fine.”

NeoFire-04/19/2016

“So even lighter than a Slim Sword. Got it”

Romulo gets the Axe from Tarquin, as he mouthed that he’s going back to his tent

Aaron-04/19/2016

“So, ya like it?”

NeoFire-04/19/2016

Romulo took a few swings, a jump slash of sorts, and a couple of different combat stances with it “I do. It’s very light, and very deadly. Kind of reminds me of a Special Hand Axe that my cousin, Gregori showed me when we were young”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Huh. What was that axe like?”

NeoFire-04/19/2016

“The Blacksmith that showed it to Gregori, and later me said that it was designed to be “A throwable, less powerful but lighter Killer Axe”

“He showed us the “finished product” and one of his earlier designs of it. Which was just a sharper Iron Hand Axe”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Interesting.”

NeoFire-04/19/2016

“He called it, the “Pugi”

Aaron-04/19/2016

“Still, that was probably higher quality than the axe I just made. I haven’t forged in a long time, so it’s pretty sloppy.”

NeoFire-04/19/2016

“It’s still pretty good”

Aaron-04/19/2016

Aaron takes the axe from Romulo and inspects it thoroughly.

“Hm… Nah, I already see some obvious imperfections in here. This could be much better.”

“But I guess I have more time to make more.”

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

Noticing that Tarquin had left, Natanya decided she should as well. She got up and went back to her tent, unannounced. As she closed the door behind her, she let herself collapse onto her bed(edited)

NeoFire-04/19/2016

“Alright,” Romulo said as he took out a book

Aaron-04/19/2016

“I was planning on giving this axe to Tarquin, but it’s not quite good enough… Though he seemed pleased with it. Anyway, I’m gonna go do some organizing in the forge, now that I’m pretty much gonna work there. See ya later, Rom.”

Aaron heads back into the blacksmith.

NeoFire-04/19/2016

“Later”, Romulo replied as he walked off to his own tent, reading a book called “Genealogy of The Holy War: Volume 1

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

Several thoughts drifted through her mind, I wonder how that old fart is doing… I could’ve prevented that entire ordeal If only I had just listened to him…

Natanya got back up and grabbed a pocket mirror from her bag.

NeoFire-04/19/2016

Hmm…, Romulo lost in thought, as he continue reading the book he had gotten in the festival, I wonder when we’ll meet again, Greg. As enemies or as allies? Only time will tell

ColdToiletSeat-04/19/2016

She lifted up the eye patch and examined her wound, a diagonal cut that went from one side of her eye to the other.

She let out an exasperated sigh, put the mirror back and hit the hay earlier than she had expected.

This entry was posted in Post Chapter 2x, Server 1, Server 2. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

