Paralogue 15 – 4/11/16

Server 1

 

Loyal- 04/11/2016

It’s pretty early in the morning. A clear day out with nary a cloud in sight. A little windy, but refreshingly so. A good day to get out and do stuff.

Standing in the training yard, Corian is practicing some simple drills and motions with the quarterstaff, using a target dummy to help.

Fifteen swings overhead.

Fifteen square jabs to the midsection.

Fifteen feints into a side swing.

Fifteen deflections.

This repeats for awhile.

Aaron- 04/11/2016

Aaron walks into the training yard, eying Corian, and decides to talk to him.

“Hey, Corian, what’re you doing here? I didn’t think a healer would try to learn how to fight.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

Corian stops his swing an inch before the dummy’s ‘neck’. He turns to Aaron, leaning on his staff.

“Good morning to you too, Aaron.”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Oh, sorry. Good morning.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“I’m just working out, mostly. It’s important for me to stay fit… even if I don’t plan to be on the front lines much.”

He wipes his brow.

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Ah, understood. Though I figured that if you did any fighting, it would be with magic, not physically. No offense, but you don’t really seem like much of a physical guy.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Fair.”

“Though looks can be deceiving. A simple weapon like this is easy to learn the basics with…”

“And besides… not all magics are alike.”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“I still don’t understand much about magic, but I at least get that some can be used to heal, and others for combat, and others for support.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“I can certainly claim proficiency with the healing energies that go through my staff, of course, but…”

Corian thinks for a moment. How to put this…

“Anima magic is the sort that requires a forceful will, as you bend the elements to your will.”

“Light magic, on the other hand, requires a powerful conviction to seeing justice done – even if you must take lives to do so.”

“I, on the other hand, do not have either of these qualities.”

“Do you understand?”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Hm… I guess so… But why don’t you have those qualities? It isn’t impossible for you to change, so maybe eventually you could wield magic like that.”(edited)

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Perhaps… but it gets harder to learn things as you get older… You end up learning so many things there’s … Just not as much room to fit it all.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

The pitter-patter of feet could be heard as the young girl in the courier uniform runs by the training yard. Spotting the two in the yard speaking with each other, Rabbit diverts her course and runs up to the two. She comes to a stop breathing heavily, “Hello, you two!”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Anyone can learn things no matter what age, as long as they really set their mind to it and try.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“i…”

Corian turns to look at the new voice. “Oh, hello Rabbit.”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

Noticing Rabbit “Oh, hey Rabbit. What’re you doing here so early?”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“Running.” She continues to catch her breath for a moment, “What about you two?”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“I was just discussing a few things about how magic works, with Aaron here.”

“Talking about why I train with a quarterstaff instead of fighting with magic…”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

She points at the staff, “Wouldn’t it be because you’ll already have a staff in your hands a lot of the time? I mean, we’ve fought some pretty fast people, like those guys on the horses.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Well… not exactly…”

He chuckles lightly. I might use that one another time though.

“The staff I use to mend wounds is… not well suited for fighting. If you tried, you might get a few good hits off, but it would break quickly.”

“This staff,” he said, thumping the quarterstaff on the ground for effect, “is a good deal sturdier. And more balanced, so it’s easier to wield.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

Rabbit crosses her arms as she thinks for a moment, “Some of the people I’ve read about had to sometimes, though. A broken staff is bad, but if they didn’t, they would have been stabbed!” She gives the staff another once over, “Looks like it’d be hard to carry with your other staves, though.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

((sry, one sec))

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Personally, I just stick to my axe, since it’s actually designed for fighting. But any weapon is better than no weapon when you’re potentially getting killed.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“You’re really strong, though, Mister Aaron. I can barely lift those things.”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Me, strong? Uh… I guess.”

Mister Aaron?

Loyal- 04/11/2016

Corian nods. “I agree. The average person wouldn’t be able to swing an axe around with the skill you do.”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Oh. Uh… Thank you.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“it takes dedication and strength to handle that.”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

Aaron is visibly uncomfortable

Loyal- 04/11/2016

((maybe much smaller than I’ve been suggesting by leaning on them))

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Ultimately though, the healing staff is just not made for fighting. It’s better than nothing, but … wouldn’t help me against a skilled, armed opponent trying to end my life.”

“This quarterstaff here can withstand a fair amount of abuse, and deflect lethal blows…”

He shrugs. “At least long enough for an ally to come and relieve me.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“I guess so.” She shifts her focus to the dummy Corian was hitting, “But what about those people in really big armor? Would there be anything you can do against them? Those guys were pretty scary when we were running away.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“…Well…”

Corian scratches his head.

“I can run faster than them.”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Hey, well, after sparring with Beman, I learned that you just gotta out speed them. And running away works.”(edited)

“Say Rabbit, I forgot to ask, but; why were you running earlier?”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

Corian thinks to himself for a moment, reflecting on Aaron’s words.(edited)

Could I really gather the conviction to kill again?

Light magic would help… I don’t want to be a burden on my allies… But…

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“Because I was told I need to to stay healthy a long time ago, so I run a lot because it’s funner then other stuff.”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Oh, okay. I didn’t know you were into exercise and stuff.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

Corian chuckles. “We march to battle, Aaron, quite regularly. I should hope we don’t shy away from a little PT now and then.”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Well, obviously. But to get up this early for that stuff means that you have a greater conviction to it. That’s what I was doing this morning too until I found you here.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“I needed to because of-” She stops herself from speaking and simply nods, “I don’t really like to do exercise, but running is fun.”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Well, you are a thief, and a good one at that. So I guess it makes sense for you to train to become faster. But if you find it fun, that’s fine too.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Healthy body, healthy mind.”

“That’s reward enough, I think.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

She frowns at the word and starts to say something before simply shutting her mouth and smiling, “R-right!”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

The stutter doesn’t escape Corian’s notice.

“…say, Rabbit, have you considered doing work around camp as a mail-runner?”

“You’re certainly fast enough for it, and you’re already dressed for the part.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“Hmm?” She glances at the uniform she’s wearing, “No, I didn’t think about it. Would they want someone so… small?”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

Corian nods. “Why not? Delivering the mail is an important task.”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Size wouldn’t really matter, as long as you do the job well, which I know you would.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“It’s not like they’re asking you to gather lumber!”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“And look at it this way: it means you get to do even more running around camp.”(edited)

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“Umm.” She takes a peek back at the camp, “… Do you think they would pay me?”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“…Why yes, dear. That’s what a job is for!”

“You perform tasks, get paid, and people like you more for being helpful.”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“And it’s even better if you enjoy the job too. Which I hope you would.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

She’s mumbling more to herself than anybody else, “Maybe I should ask then. I still need more.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

Corian tilts his head.

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

She raises her voice again, “How much free time would I have, though?”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

He scratches his head.

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Uh… I don’t know. Depends on how much mail there is.”

“Some days will be busier than others.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“I doubt it would take up too much time. There’s only so much mail to go around.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

She eyes the ground as she runs the idea through her head. “Hmm.” Would it get me more if I did that? Or should I continue with how things are?

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Besides, I can’t really think of anyone else here in our company who could do the job better. I think you’re perfect for it!”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“It’s your choice, of course… but do think on it at least awhile.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

The compliment seems to have gone unnoticed as Rabbit continues to think and she mumbles to herself again, “Maybe..?”

“I think I’ll give it a try. Do you think they’d be okay if I decide not to do it if I don’t like it?”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“I think it’ll be fine. They could probably get someone else to do it if that’s the case. But I’m glad you’re at least giving it a try.”(edited)

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“They’ll find someone. But they’ll be disappointed.”(edited)

“Especially if you quit after finding yourself as talented with it as I think you will be.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“Well, I don’t want it to take all my time is all. I’d like to still do stuff like going into town again.”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“I’m sure you’ll still have plenty of free time. Like Corian said, there’s only so much mail to deliver.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Hm… yes. As long as you aren’t …” He pauses. Maybe I shouldn’t bring it up… “…well, as long as you don’t get hurt.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

Rabbit’s eyes narrow for a brief moment as Corian pauses, a grin pulling at the edge of her mouth. “You’d take me to town again, wouldn’t you, Mister Aaron?” She’s shining her teeth at the man, her eyes occasionally shifting to the priest.

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Certainly! That was fun, and it’d be great to go back there. Though I’d probably advise getting another group together for that.”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

Beman enters the training grounds to do his daily workout. Today was leg day.

Zeraion- 04/11/2016

Quarender is at the other side of the training grounds, practising sword forms

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“We should go again sometime! … Not that town though.” She let’s out a giggle at the thought, “Maybe the next one!”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Yeah, I do hope that we get go see some other towns sometime. Perhaps one of our future camps will be near my hometown, Ignatz.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“…Hrm…”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Uh… Something wrong, Corian?”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“That’d be fun. Please let me know the next time we go to a town, again!”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Of course, Rabbit.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“…Nothing to be discussed in polite company, anyway.”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Ah, alright then. Anyway, I should get to my training. See you later, Rabbit.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

She waves at the man “Bye, Mister Aaron!”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

He waves. “Farewell, Aaron!”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

Aaron grabs a training axe off the rack at the wall, then walks up to a dummy and starts practicing.

“Huh?… I wasn’t leaving. I came here to do some training in the first place, but started talking with Corian instead.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Ah… of course… you do that.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

Rabbit grins at Corian, the look of someone that’s won something, “I should leave though, maybe if I talk to those people about that mail thing, I might be able to save up to get something at the next town.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“……”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Good! Glad you’re applying yourself to this job. Good luck getting it!”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

He says quietly, “…You really did wear out your welcome at Riverfast, didn’t you…?”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Aaron.”

Beman calls out.

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Huh? Oh, hey Beman. What’s up?”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

She whispers back at the man, “… Among other things.” She turns to face the camp, “Umm, who do I even need to talk to about that mail stuff?”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Maybe you should build up your body to better wield the axe, although you’re strong enough to wield it, it would help a lot if you built your body first.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“…right then.” He pipes back up. “You know the area where we keep our tents and such? The largest tent on the eastern side will have the man you need to speak to.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“Alrighty! Thanks, Mister Corian.” She waves before she sets off running again.

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Take care of yourself, Rabbit. We’ll speak again. Let me know how it goes.”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Oh, sorry. I’ve already been doing some strength training today, and I thought that what I was about to do would qualify as well. I feel like I can wield it sufficiently, though. I’ve certainly gotten enough kills on the battlefield to somewhat prove that.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

He sighs. Sooner or later…

He turns to the other two men.

Zeraion- 04/11/2016

Quarender finishes a set of exercises, and notices Corian.

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Say, Corian, what’s up with that girl? You seemed a bit… Upset with her.”

Zeraion- 04/11/2016

“Hey, Corian. Was that Rabbit I saw just now?”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

He shakes his head. “Don’t worry about it Aaron. Private matter.”

“Good morning, Quarendar.”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“…Alright then. Perhaps I best be a bit more careful with her then.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Yes, we were just talking, and got the idea of having her take up a job as a mail runner.”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

(Wait that little girl?)

(She looks familiar)

(shrugs)

Zeraion- 04/11/2016

“I.. see. Would that have anything to do with the troubled look upon your face as well?” He mildly enquires(edited)

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Hey Quar, nice to see ya. And I already asked him about that, but he wouldn’t say.”

Zeraion- 04/11/2016

“Oh, hey Aaron. I see…” Quarender trails off, rubbing his chin. He seems to be thinking about something.

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“You pondering something there?”

Zeraion- 04/11/2016

“Just remembering, and wondering if it’s to do with that incident..”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Uh… Incident? What am I missing here?”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

He clears his throat insistently.

Zeraion- 04/11/2016

He looks slightly troubled for a second, before the expression vanishes. “But no worries. I’ll have to consult Corian here for advice, on a later date.”(edited)

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Hmph… Alright then. It’s pretty clear that you guys are hiding something from me about Rabbit… But if it’s really private, I guess I’ll leave you two be then.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

He offers a bow. “My apologies. But it’s a matter best not spread around like idle gossip.”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Understood. And if it’s something that would make Rabbit look bad, it would only hurt her chances of getting that job.”

Zeraion- 04/11/2016

Quarender looks slightly sheepish. “Sorry, Aaron. But Rabbit herself also doesn’t want to talk, so its kinda hard. Thanks for understanding, though.”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

“Of course. Anyway, I should get to more of my training. I gotta go run some more, then do some pushups, sit-ups, weightlifting…”

“Beman’s training regimen is pretty hefty, but if it’ll help me get stronger, I’m all for it. See ya later!”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“I should do the same.” He regards the quarterstaff again. “I haven’t gotten nearly as much training as I’d like out of this for today.”

Aaron- 04/11/2016

Aaron runs out of the training grounds, throwing his axe at the rack.

Zeraion- 04/11/2016

Quarender regards Corian briefly, before speaking again. “Father. This isn’t a good time for it yet, I presume?”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“…Not really. I can only be so direct with her about her bad habits without her shutting me out entirely.”

“It’s not just right for a girl of her age to resort to such behavior… why?”

Zeraion- 04/11/2016

“I’ve been wondering, too. World’s a cruel place, though.” Quar pauses, a memory of blood and fire passing through. A girl, screaming.

Shaking his head, he continues. “Still, little we can do until she’s willing to be more open about it. For now, I guess I’ll try to keep up with her, and keep her out of trouble.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“I appreciate it, Quarendar.” He glances absently in the direction Rabbit ran off toward. “…I will continue to do what I can, and if the situation develops, I will let you know.”

“…actually…”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Now that I think of it, she and Aaron expressed interest in going to the next town over for a day trip. I suspect Rabbit may be planning to …” He struggles with the word, not wanting to consciously even associate ‘Rabbit’ with ‘Stealing’. “…make more money while there in her own way.”(edited)

“Perhaps you could make sure she doesn’t cause any trouble there?”

Zeraion- 04/11/2016

Nodding his head, Quar takes a second to think about what the priest said. “I see. I appreciate it, Father. I’ll go with them, and try my best to keep her.. and the townsfolk out of trouble.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“You have my gratitude,” he says, offering a deeper bow than usual.

Zeraion- 04/11/2016

“Think nothing of it. I’ve my reasons for wanting to look out for her, too, Father.” Quar smiles, turns and walks back towards the dummies. “If you’ll excuse me, I’ve another set of exercises to finish.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Of course. I’ll be around.”

Corian hefts the quarterstaff, and once again begins drilling different motions with the dummy.

((ollies outy))

Zeraion- 04/11/2016

((Quar, out.))

Mappy- 04/11/2016

=============================

jddaepicboss- 04/11/2016

Bedivere is sitting on a tree trunk near the mess hall, reading a tattered copy of “The Holy War.”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“What’cha reading?”

Beman exits from the mess hall, after doing some cleanup before tonight’s meal

jddaepicboss- 04/11/2016

Bedivere looks up to see Beman. He smiles. “Hello, Beman! This is a book known as The Holy War, a novelization of a well known mythical hero known as Sigurd.”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Cool”

jddaepicboss- 04/11/2016

Bedivere is slightly disheartened by his lack of interested response, but doesn’t show it. “So, you need any help with dinner tonight? I have nothing better to do.”

((Brb))

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Nah I’m good. Just gonna get the ingredients now.”

“See ya”

jddaepicboss- 04/11/2016

Bedivere is saddened. After all the time he spent planning that joke…

Bedivere heads back to reading.

Mappy- 04/11/2016

==========================================================

jddaepicboss- 04/11/2016

Bedivere has put his book back in his tent, and is walking around the camp.

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

Rabbit lets out a sigh as she walks out of the largest tent of the camp, a newly acquired hat on her head matching the uniform she had already been wearing. She was muttering to herself, “I didn’t expect them to be that easy…”

jddaepicboss- 04/11/2016

Bedivere notices the young girl walking by. “Oh, hello there, Rabbit! How’s it going?”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“Oh, hello there, Mister Bedi.” She stops by the man. “Nothing too much. Mostly just doing what some of the others suggested to me earlier today.”

jddaepicboss- 04/11/2016

“And what would that be?”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“A courier, since I already had a uniform.” She pulls at the baggy clothes, “They still don’t have any that’d fit me right, but this has been working so far.”

jddaepicboss- 04/11/2016

Bedivere is very surprised by this. This girl is a thief, but is working as a courier…How strange the world is. “Well, it beats nothing I guess. And you look pretty good in it! So… Anything else happening with you?”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“Umm…” She thinks for a moment before answering. “I asked Aaron if he’d take me into town like we went to Riverfast the next one we got to.”

jddaepicboss- 04/11/2016

“That sounds nice. So, Rabbit…” Bedivere decides to ask something he’s been wondering for a while. “How did you end up here in the first place? A band of mercenaries is no place for someone so young. If it’s private, you don’t have to say. I’m just curious.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“I joined the palace guards like the rest of you, silly.” She’s playful in her tone and gives him a slanted smile.

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

In the distance, a sort of large-ish figure, Romulo can be seen in distance, looking bored “Welp. There was no one by the camp, in the camp, or anything else. Am I done here?” “Uh… yeah”

jddaepicboss- 04/11/2016

Bedivere is very suspicious, but if she’s lying, she’s very good at it… “Heh… I suppose that makes sense.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Besides, I don’t think they feel like attacking again

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“What do you mean, that makes sense? Weren’t you at the palace, too?”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Romulo found a rock to sit on and took out some sort of… diary thing. He looks around before anyone else sees him do it So boredom sets in…

jddaepicboss- 04/11/2016

Bedivere shrugs. “Yeah, I was, but I mean…never mind. So is…umm…who’s that?” Bedivere points to Romulo.

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Also, Neo’s seemed to drop off the face of the damned universe for all I know. Literally, there hasn’t been anything on him for a good… 2 years was it?

Romulo looks up, confused “Uh… hi”

Romulo starts to scratch his head, as if remembering something “Weren’t you a palace guard during that messy raid?”

Romulo points at Bedivere

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“I saw him a bit in the tunnels! He’s really strong from what I saw. He was packing an axe around like it was nothing.” She waves at Romulo.

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Romulo sees Rabbit waving back and responds by doing the same Welp. Looks like I get to talk to some people from that job. Wonder where Tarquin ran off to…

jddaepicboss- 04/11/2016

Bedivere thinks back… Maybe he did see him before… “So, what’s your name, strong guy? And yes, I was a palace guard.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Romulo hears a voice and looks at Bedivere “My name is Romulo. I am just a simple mercenary” Romulo smiled, but anyone sensible could tell that he was lying at the “simple” part

jddaepicboss- 04/11/2016

Being sensible, Bedivere knows that nobody is that simple. God, why is everyone here so secretive?

“Well, nice to meet you. I’m Bedivere!”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

Rabbit tilts her head at the man and points at Romulo’s book. “Do you write?”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Oh this”, Romulo said as he revealed the brown book “It’s just a journal full of notes. Lots of notes. Also, don’t steal it please”(edited)

jddaepicboss- 04/11/2016

Harsh.

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

She frowns. “I’m not going to steal it.” The accusation stings and her voice lowers. “I’m not going to steal anything from the camp. At all.”

jddaepicboss- 04/11/2016

Bedivere watches the scene play out, cautiously.

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Sorry for accusing you. it’s just every time I seem to use it in public, it gets stolen and it’s a pain to get it back”(edited)

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“That doesn’t mean I’m going to steal it!” She crosses her arms. “You can’t just go saying that stuff, Mister. At least other times I’ve been accused of stealing it was when I was helping out.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Romulo looks into his bag and puts away the journal, getting out another book that has the exact same appearence as it “I should really label these things…”, he sighed

jddaepicboss- 04/11/2016

Bedivere is very interested by Rabbit, but doesn’t know how to go about learning about her past.(edited)

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Romulo is wondering what a 14/15 year old is doing here

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

Reaching up to take her hat off, she let out a sigh, “What’s your name, Mister? I’ve seen you fighting with us before, but I don’t know who you are.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“It’s Romulo, and you are…?”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“I’m Rabbit.” She continues to speak flatly.

jddaepicboss- 04/11/2016

Bedivere chuckles, and walks off. He heads to bed. Maybe he should start a diary soon too.

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

As Bedivere walks off, Romulo realizes something It’s getting kinda late…

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

Oh great! Now I’m stuck with someone calling me a thief. Alone. “I might have to bring you mail sometimes, Mister Romulo. I don’t think you’ll need to worry about me stealing your books.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Alright. I trust you on that, And I’m sorry that we kinda got off a bad start”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

Another sigh. “Fine, fine. Just don’t go calling me a thief again. I’ve already had to make a promise not to steal anything at camp to the others, okay?”

DuffleBag- 04/11/2016

Tarquin was walking along the path. He was really bored and wanted to do something before he went to sleep. He then spotted Rab and Romulo speaking.

“Oh, hey guys, what’s up?”(edited)

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Alright”

Romulo sees Tarquin “Hello Tarquin”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“Hello, Mister Tarquin.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Hopefully he didn’t cause anymore trouble…

Rabbit reminds me of someone. But… I can’t really put my finger on it…(edited)

DuffleBag- 04/11/2016

“So, how’re you guys?”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Fine. I was pulled into minor guard duty”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“I’m doing okay. I start working for the camp tomorrow.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Then I got out of it, and now I’m here”

“What job will they assign to you, Rabbit?”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

She holds up her hat. “Courier! That’s why I said I might need to give you mail at some point. Some of the others suggested it earlier today.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Romulo reminiscences about his own time in a camp like this, back when he was younger “Cool. I had to be a janitor back when I was your age”

DuffleBag- 04/11/2016

“Hm, a courier? Interesting.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“Oh? You did?” She hums to herself, “So if anyone asks what I’m doing here, I can just say Mister Romulo worked at a camp when he was younger.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Err… I don’t think you can. In fact, I don’t think we’ve ever met before the Palace Raid thing, Rabbit” Romulo chuckles

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“Well, no, but you said you worked at a camp right then! I wouldn’t need to have known you then to tell people you did it, too.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“B-but you didn’t have to clean everything”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“I’m still working! I’ll just be running everywhere instead of cleaning stuff.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Good point. Man, my mind’s been everywhere for a couple of weeks now”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

She mutters to herself under her breath, “Cleaning isn’t that hard, anyways…” She glances around the campgrounds. “Mister Tarquin can even say he heard you say it, too, right?”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Well I had to clean everything. It isn’t hard until you attempt to clean the horses. Or after drunk people”

DuffleBag- 04/11/2016

“Yeah, I can’t imagine what it’d be like to clean this camp.” Tarquin chuckles.

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Horse pens to be specific, and for a 15 year old who’s only seen them like… three times in his entire life at that point”

“The camp I was talking about was smaller, and more ragtag than this”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

Rabbit stays quiet and glances away from the two, putting up a hand to block out the sun as she eyes the horizon.

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Honestly, the only reason I’m even here is because I got a lead on my lost brother’s location”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

Turning back around, “Lost brother?”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Romulo looks at the horizon as well, as he is reminded of his family. The one he had to leave. Hmm… Gregori… I wonder what you’re doing right now

“Yep. He went Missing a couple of years back”(edited)

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“… Oh.” She rubs her hands together for a few moment. “I’m sure he’s around. And that he has reasons.”

DuffleBag- 04/11/2016

“Yeah, any luck getting more info about that?”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“I think I know his reasons…,” Romulo rubbed his chin, thinking “I just need conformation from the man himself. Also, he kept regular contact with me and my other brother before his disappearence. It’s not in his nature to just disappear off the face of the Earth.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“And besides the inital lead I got, no I haven’t found anything worthwhile Tarq”

Romulo sighs deeply, noting that he’s been at this for nearly 3 years

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

Rabbit shifts away a little bit, “Well, I’m going to let you two talk this out. I’m going to see if I can’t find someone else.” She gives them a wave before dashing off.

DuffleBag- 04/11/2016

“Bye, Rab!”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Alright, have a good night Rabbit!”

Romulo turns back to Tarq, continuing the discussion

DuffleBag- 04/11/2016

“So, no luck?”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Yep. Other than the reasons that I think I’ve figured out, I’ve found nothing in the last 2-3 years”, Romulo grumbled, disappointed at the lack of progress he was making

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

The girl continues jogging around the camp at a brisk pace, her eyes on the lookout for anybody else.

DuffleBag- 04/11/2016

“…”

“Don’t worry, Im sure we’ll find him. Trust me.”

“Remember, everyone here has your back.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Thanks for the reassurance”

“Sorry for asking this out of the blue Tarquin, but what exactly happened to your own family?” Romulo asked, as Tarquin didn’t elaborate on what exactly happened to them

DuffleBag- 04/11/2016

“…”

Tarquin went quiet.

“I…”

“I… left them. I wanted glory, so I decided to join a mercenary group. That’s all.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Ah. I left my own family for entirely different reasons”

“I think I told you about my extended family? You know, my dad’s relatives”

DuffleBag- 04/11/2016

“Really?”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“I think I didn’t”

DuffleBag- 04/11/2016

“No, you didn’t.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Okay. Well my dad’s family can be described in a couple of words: Borderline Batshit Insane”

DuffleBag- 04/11/2016

“Why, what happened?”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“After my uncle, my dad’s brother in law met a fate that can only be described as “i should’ve checked the wind conditions…” my cousin left the family”

“You see, I come from a family of mages, shamans, monks, etc. and well said cousin happened to be the most promising mage within the family”

“And he was groomed to inherit our family’s anima magic secrets, and some other secrets too”

“After he left, our family turned to my brother, Samuel. He couldn’t possibly live up to their expectations. They were too high,and my parents weren’t at that good relations with them except for my dad’s siblings and said siblings’s respective husband/wife”

“So, my parents told me to “Leave. They’ll go after you and start treating you like shit…” basically”

“Because I took after my mom’s family instead. And since it was unanimous within my household that my dad’s relatives were “people you wouldn’t associate on a normal basis, except for a few” and that they were just kinda… off”

“Then me and my brothers left and traveled with my mom’s brother, a Mage Knight”

“Also, before you ask my uncle died to wind currents redirecting an Arcfire he casted for his class, and it just… disintegrated him from what I heard from my aunt”

“And it’s done.”

Romulo rubs his hands together for a couple of moments before he returned to “non-storyteller” mode

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

Rabbit continues to jog through the camp, looking for anyone she would know to tell them the news of what happened.

Loyal- 04/11/2016

Corian is near his own tent, tending to a campfire with a small bird roasting on a spit.

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

As the girl rounds the corner, she skids to a stop. Him! Gotta think fast. “Ah! Mister Corian!” She walks the rest of the way toward him. “Mister Herrik had mentioned something to me that I’ve been meaning to ask you about.”

“While we were in the tunnels, Mister Herrik mentioned that he thought I was your apprentice. Would that actually be something I could do? I read really well, if that helps.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

Corian hadn’t noticed the small girl until she spoke to him. His attention snapped to her, but he only caught about half of what she’d said. “Ah… good evening, Rabbit… What’s this about an apprenticeship?”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

“Mister Herrik said he thought I was your apprentice and I was wondering if I could be. I’d like to learn how to use a staff like you do.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

…Really… not what I’d have expected to hear from her.

“That’s … very interesting to hear, Rabbit. Is there a particular reason you’d want to learn about using a staff?”

“It’s a task that requires … dedication.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

Got to keep him focused on something else. And staves would be a nice trick… “Well…” She crouches by Corian as she thinks, “It’d help a lot, wouldn’t it? We’ve been fighting an awful lot and I’m not that strong.” Another one of her smiles appears.

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“I suppose.” He poked at the roast-in-progress, considering her offer.

“Don’t get me wrong… If you are sincere about this, I’d be happy to tell you what I can…”

“But. It’s not like a spear, or a… a club. You can’t just pick it up on a whim.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

Rabbit nods quickly as she grabs the book she carries around, “Of course I am! And knowing to read helps too, doesn’t it? People learning magic are always reading books in the stories.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

Corian nods.

“There’s more to it than that. But we’ll see.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Well, later Tarq” Romulo walks off, leaving the other Axe Fighter alone

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“If you have the free time for it, I have no objection to teaching you what I know. About Healing Staves.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

Just Healing staves? Aww, man. “Okay, Mister Corian! I hope I’m able to use them one day, then I can help out everybody else better, too!”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Hm… That reminds me, while we’re on the topic of picking up new responsibilities…”

“How did the Courier business go?”

He’s looking directly at her now, keenly interested in her features.

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Romulo walks by Corian and Rabbit, seemingly trying to find something to do I could always just go to bed now…

But… they might just wake me up as soon as I actually go to sleep…

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

Rabbit points at a new hat that matches the uniform, “They said yes. I hope it’s not too time consuming, though.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Huh, wonder what that is Romulo thought as he heard Rabbit and Corian’s conversation about Rabbit’s new job in the camp* Romulo turned around for a brief second and he saw Rabbit talking to that priest That priest gives me the chills…

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“That’s what I find myself concerned about. You seem to place a great deal of value on your ‘free time’.” He shrugs. “Far be it from me to tell you what to do with it, but learning the staff will require quite a great deal of it.”

“If you’ll meet me here, tomorrow evening before the sun sets, we’ll begin your apprenticeship.”

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

She wonders for a moment as he mentions the amount of time it’d take, “Hmm. How much of it? Would I still have at least a little if you started teaching me?”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

He nods, his expression stony. “I wouldn’t dream of monopolizing all of your time.” Though if I could keep enough of it to discourage your ‘extracirricular’ activities, I’d gladly accept…

He takes the now-roasted bird off the fire.

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Well, my tents right there. Hopefully the others don’t make so much noise

Romulo walks by Rabbit and Corian and into his (Romulo’s) tent

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

Maybe if I can learn how to use those Healing staves, I could learn the rest by myself! Rabbit stands back up, “Thanks, Mister Corian! I’ll be here tomorrow evening. Or try to be. I don’t know what time they’ll be wanting me to do the courier stuff.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Hmm… Staff training. Reminds me of that time with Neo and our mom

Loyal- 04/11/2016

His face turns to a genuine smile.

“Good, good… See you here. And congratulations on the new job.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Romulo sits down in his tent, and gets out a book to read

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

She nods and gives him a wave, “Thanks again! I’ll see you around, Mister Corian! I should get back to my own tent or something and leave you alone.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Good night, Rabbit!”

He pulls out a fork and knife borrowed from the dining hall, and starts digging into the bird.

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Shit. I can’t read in the dark

bemoney- 04/11/2016

Beman joins Corian at the fire, plate of leftover food from dinner

“Evening.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Romulo gets out of the tent, joining Beman and Corian by the camp fire

Rabbit- 04/11/2016

Rabbit begins to run off, a look of relief flashing on her face before she turns around and books it away from the priest.

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Do you two mind if I read by here? I can’t read in the dark after all”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

Corian blinks a few times at the new arrivals.

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“No problem here.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“…Good evening, gentlemen”

“My fire is your fire.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Good evening priest, and to you too knight”(edited)

bemoney- 04/11/2016

(Er what were their names again?)

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

((lemme edit it real quicky))

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“I’ve seen you a few times here and there, but I don’t think we’ve had much chance to talk… Your name is Beman, right?”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Nah, I’m good”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Eh, yeah, that’s me.”

“And you’re Cory? No. Ummm…”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Corian.”

He extends his open palm for a handshake.

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Oh yeah.”

Beman reciprocates the handshake

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

This is a good book Romulo thought

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“You guys want any?”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“No, thank you.” He lifts his roast. “I’ve quite enough.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“I’m good”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Alright…”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Oh yeah, I should probably introduce myself as well”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

He turns to the fighter. “…I’m sorry, I don’t think I’ve caught your name before.”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

Beman has already eaten 2 servings

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“I’m Romulo. An axe fighter that was apart of that Palace raid”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

Corian gradually picks at the food between sentences.

bemoney- 04/11/2016

(Palace raid?)

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

((w/e chapter 1 was))

bemoney- 04/11/2016

(shrugs)

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Right. Right… Feels like it was awhile ago, doesn’t it?”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Yeah, it was”

“Corian, was it, you got any idea of what that strange man that was part of the New Republic said to us before we got taken in and subsequently got out of it?”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

Beman is eating

[@ me when I’m relevant]

Loyal- 04/11/2016

He glances sideways at Beman. “No… I haven’t a clue. It happened, I know that much.”

“I haven’t so much as heard a word about him since.”

“Like a phantom of some sort.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Ah. Same here. I asked the same thing to one of the other axe fighters, Tarquin and also another one named Aaron”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

Corian nods.

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“You think he was using some sort of illusion the entire time?”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

He shrugs. “If there was magic involved, it’s not one I’ve ever been familiar with… And that’s saying a lot.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“It seemed like a sort of… basic hex taken up a notch. I’ve saw something like that before with my grandfather and his students”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“I don’t really like to think about it.” Corian shook his head. “In the end, we’ve wound up back in Mategaus’s good graces… And until we see another sign of him, I’m…”

He mentally reviews Romulo’s wording. “…Did you say ‘Hex’?”

“As in Dark Magic?”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

(Magic?)

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Yep. A very basic hex concept known as “cloaking”… it was quite alarming when I saw that man use it to such an extent”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

(I guess I should’ve kept up my studies…)

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“…Interesting… Mind telling me more?”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“He… took it up a couple of notches. Normally, you should be able to feel this… vague presence when the caster is within the vicinity”(edited)

“It’s also very easy to feel as well. The fact that no one seemed to be aware of that man’s presence proves that he’s more than just… skillful”

“Though, whomever warped in those mage reinforcements did a rather shoddy job at it as well…”

Romulo yawns, his book still opened as he mentally noted what happened on that day

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“…I see…” Corian begins taking mental notes.

“Next chance I get, I’ll look up what I can about Hexes.”

“I was willing to just let the matter drop until we’d met the man again… But perhaps this is a lead I can pursue.”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Hmm”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“The New Republic seemed suspicious to me. But I can’t put my finger on it…”

“Besides that man, it seems like a group of a bunch of rightfully so angry people pissed off that they’ve been lied to for a long time and want a reform. In the most violent way possible”

“Well, I’m exaggerating it but still…”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

He shrugs. “The New Republic is … frankly not of enormous concern to me.”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Huh”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“My chief concern here is protecting the lives of those I’ve befriended. And they’ve chosen to walk this path, so I shall do what I can to guide them there.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Same here”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Cool”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Once all everyone here is done with this whole rebellion vs established government thing is done, I’m probably just going to get out of here”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

He nods, thinking. He can’t really take his mind off the hex business.(edited)

Way back when… I must have known something about this type of magic…

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Elder magic is indeed a dangerous craft…” is what my grandfather once told me and my siblings when we visited him”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“…More than you can understand.”

He staring blankly into the fire. “I’ve seen many tempted by the power it offers. But none who follow it ever seem to understand or heed the price it asks.”

“I’ve heard tales of those who seek its power, even for a noble cause…”

“…Only to lose their sense of self and forget why they ever picked up that power in the first place… eventually only seeking power for the sake of power…”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“The exact same words my family has told me throughout the years.”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

(Did my sister to elder magic?)

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Romulo stares blankly into the fire “Magic is indeed a dangerous craft, even anima magic is capable of great destruction and peril. Even Light magic is capable of such things…”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Eh, excuse men but what is elder magic, it sounds familiar…”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Elder magic is dark magic as it’s known today mostly”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“it’s … “

“You know there are three basic schools of magic, right?”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Romulo eyes at Beman, to see if he at least understands the three basic schools of magic

@bemoney

bemoney- 04/11/2016

Beman tilts his head to the side

“I know about anima, that’s the worldly elements, or something…right?”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Right… well.”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“My sister was a genius when it came to magic, the house was always littered with books and tomes”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Anima is indeed elemental magic. Shaping them to your will to create the desired effect.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“But sometimes, people will want more…”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“It’s powerful, and common as far as magics go. Intuitive, once you get the grasp of it.”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Yep, sounds like the magic she tried to teach me”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Light magic is … divine. Based on faith, and strength of conviction. The desire to strike down an evildoer manifested as a ray of searing light.”

“But it requires that you are willing to kill… and not all who seek justice are willing to go that far.”

“……”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Light magic is as dangerous as Elder magic in the right circumstances. Sometimes even moreso”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

Corian nods.

“Justice is subjective, after all.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Romulo shuddered, as a scene of light magic utterly wiping out half of a mage guild that was chasing him without much effort

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“To the men fighting in the New Republic, I’m sure we are nothing more than tyrants stomping them underfoot.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Indeed. It’s all a matter of perspective I suppose”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“The strenght of their light magic would be no less potent than ours.”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

Beman’s head is hurting

“Urgh, I never understood magic…”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“…I’m sorry. This may be a lot to take in for those unacquainted with the subject.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Indeed. I was born and raised as a scholar, who happened to have an affinity with Axes on the field”

“Instead of my family’s traditional affinity with magic”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“So you’re like me then.”

“Well I guess not exactly.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“…Heh. Seems we have a lot of would-be magical prodigies who took to the blade instead.”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Hm”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“At any rate – to the point, and I promise this’ll be the end of it if you wish – “

“The third school of magic is … Dark. Or Elder magic. However you want to call it.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“It’s the most ancient of the three schools”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Where Anima represents nature and Light represents faith, Elder magic represents … the purest application for the phrase, ‘knowledge is power.'”

“Shamans dedicate themselves wholly to the study of magic, acquiring a mastery that many others can’t hold a candle to.”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

Beman furrows his brow, but is following along

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“The Pro of Elder Magic is that it’s strong, powerful. You can achieve massive feats with it that anima and light magic can barely muster”

“However, there is a cost. The Con of Elder Magic is that it’s the type of magic that slowly devours your mind”

“Until you become nothing more than an empty shell simply seeking power because you can”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Yikes”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“That’s what I said when my grandfather explained it to me so many years ago”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“You too got a killer headache?”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Though admittedly, I have no talent in procuring or using magic at all. Which is why I took up the axe in the first place. After all, half of my mother’s family were military men and women”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

Beman puts his finished plate down, and rubs his head

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Yeah a really bad one”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Never got it as a kid, will never get it now.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Indeed. Also, Corian isn’t Healing magic a sort of… fusion between the 3 schools of magic?”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Not… exactly.”

“At its core, it requires the same control over magic as the three primary schools, but …”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

(Oh no)

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“It’s somewhat similar to Light magic in that it requires a very particular mindset to operate.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Like my mom said

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“One of a desire to protect.”

“To face the evils of the world and say, ‘I will be here when you are gone. And I will make this right.'”

“…Of course, much like with Justice, this desire is also subjective. You can only focus on protecting the things, and the people, that are important to you.”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

(Oh not that bad)

(It’s basically religion class)

(Well I still failed that class)

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“But yes. Back to the topic at hand – That, Beman, is why I am concerned when I hear the possibility of that man using Dark Magic.”

“If he’s a major figure in the New Republic, that can only bode ill for its future.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“The thing about cloaking is that both Anima and Light magic can easily duplicate it’s effects…”

“But I wouldn’t be surprised if that man happened to be a master of sorts in all 3 basic schools of magic”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Hmm”

“If I wasn’t disowned…

(Shit)

Beman becomes quiet.

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Hm?”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Hm?”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“I was thinking…

“And I came up with nothing”

“I was never good at magic anyways…so yeah.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“I couldn’t even use magic myself”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Right. This is purely academia.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Though my parents never went so far as to disown me”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“There’s a world of difference between knowing of magic and using it.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Indeed”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“I’ve also heard of individuals who could control magic effortlessly without picking up a book.”

“We all have our talents.”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Oh, my parents disowned me for a different reason.”

“And the one who was my sister would be one of those individuals”

“I had zero capabilities in academia and all that”

“My sister already had a firm grasp on anima when she was about 6”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“I was trained by my maternal grandfather in martial arts instead”

“Ah, that must’ve been a huge burden…”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“My parents never bothered with me…”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

I can’t imagine how much he went through…

Loyal- 04/11/2016

Corian listens quietly, nodding now and then.

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“It’s all right Beman, we’re here for you…”

“Something similar happened to my mother’s uncle…”

“His death chilled everyone to the bone”

“After all, me and my siblings got to meet him…”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Nah, it’s the past now.”

“I can’t remember that far into the past anyways.”

“Heh”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Oh boy… I’ve probably forgotten more than I know, at this point.” He scratches his head absently.

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“When it comes to magic, I agree. When it comes to family, those memories for me serve as a haunting reminder for what happens if you pursue power for the wrong reasons…”, a chill went up through Romulo’s spine for some… odd reason(edited)

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Well, my reason isn’t that big…I just got hit on the head a lot of times…”

“The whole lose your memory thing after getting hit on the head is a little true”

“You need to hit your head a lot.”

“Which I did.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Ah…”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“I think”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“And my dad’s side of the family other than my immediate aunts, uncles, and cousins; and also my grandparents were pretty nasty”

“My mind would never allow me to sway into that path.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Well, do try to take care of yourself out there. You’re a valuable man on the field…”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Indeed”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“…and even if your birth family has its problems with you, you’ve got your other family here among us. So take care of yourself for us, eh?”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“I’m not that valuable.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Romulo nodded at the answer as well as he turned a page in his book

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“I’m just a soldier”

“Or something like that”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Please.”

“I’m just a man with a staff.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Don’t indulge in self-blame. You’re as important as the rest of us”

“And I’m just a man who hits things with an axe until they die”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Why are you guys so nice?”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“My mother and father once told me that being nice feels… really good and it gives you much more insight into a person”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

Corian nods. “We’re comrades. Is that not reason enough?”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Hm”

“I don’t get it…”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“And I gotta admit, rescuing people from mad kings, defeating brigands to rescue your village, spending time with those you consider friends and/or family feels really good to do”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“That sentiment was never a thing where I come from”

“Family was important and all.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“It wasn’t one I always thought about myself”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“But I probably missed out I guess, heh.”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

“Never too late to catch up,” Corian replied wistfully.

“Just think on it a bit, hm?”

“I’ve … got to get to sleep, myself.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Same here”

“It’s getting late and knowing the people in this camp, I’ll be rosed out of bed pretty early to be on guard duty”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

Corian stands up and stretches. “It’s been a pleasure to finally meet the man behind the stews, Beman. And you as well, Romulo. Good to have a chance to just talk magic now and then.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“Indeed”

bemoney- 04/11/2016

“Same.”

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

“I haven’t been able to talk to any of the mages, monk, or shaman with us so it feels good”

“I’ll be heading to my tent now”

“Good night”

Loyal- 04/11/2016

Corian starts putting out the fire, and once he’s done, he heads inside his tent to sleep.

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

Romulo heads into his tent, and lied down, thinking of what is to come

((Romulo and Corian’s Support Level has increased to E))(edited)

Loyal- 04/11/2016

((good night,s leep tight))

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

(night)

bemoney- 04/11/2016

Gnight

NeoFire- 04/11/2016

((Romulo and Beman’s Support Level has increased to E) ((Beman and Corian’s Support Level has increased to E))(edited)

bemoney- 04/11/2016

Beman remains at the fire, thinking of his past.

This entry was posted in Post Chapter 2x, Server 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

